Horse Soldier Theme Song

Corb Lund, Canadian Country Western singer who I just discovered, sings the perfect theme song for this blog.  See the video here:

The song is from his album, Horse Soldier!  Horse Soldier! and includes several cavalry oriented tunes including I wanna Be in the Calvary.

See a review of the album here.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://horsesoldier.wordpress.com/2009/03/13/horse-soldier-theme-song/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’m not a military guy…just an avid history buff like this singer. Man, this song’s pure art – nice to hear songs with substance and especially well-accounted history! The line abt special forces riding those “wily Afghan horses” literally sent chills down my spine. Well done.

    Greg in Mexico

  2. I’m a hussar, I’m a Hun, I’m a wretched Englishman
    Routing Bonaparte at Waterloo
    I’m a dragoon on a dun, I’m a Cossack on the run
    I’m a horse soldier, timeless, through and through
    I’m a horse soldier, eternal, through and through

    I’s with Custer and the 7th in ‘76 or ‘77
    Scalped at Little Big Horn by the Sioux
    And the tears and devistation of a once proud warrior nation
    This I know ‘cause I was riding with them too

    I drank mare’s blood on the run when I rode with the Great Khan
    On the frozen Mongol steppe when at his height
    I’s a White Guard, I’s a Red Guard, I’s the Tsar’s own palace horse guard
    When Romanov was murdered in the night

    I knew Salah al-Din and rode his swift Arabians
    Harassing doomed crusaders on their heavy drafts
    And yet I rode the Percheron against the circling Saracen
    And once again against myself was cast

    Well I’ve worn the Mounties crimson, if you’re silent and you listen
    You’ll know that it was with them that I stood
    When Mayerthorpe, she cried, as her four horsemen died
    Gunned down in scarlet, coldest blood

    I’s the firstest with the mostest when I fought for Bedford Forrest
    Suffered General Wilson’s Union raid
    Mine was not to reason why, mine was but to do and die
    At Crimea with the charging light brigade

    On hire from Swiss or Sweden, be me Christian, be me heathen
    The devil to the sabre I shall put
    With a crack flanking maneuver, I’m an uhlan alles uber
    Striking terror into regiment of foot

    I knew my days were numbered when o’er the trenches lumbered
    More modern machinations de la guerre
    No match for rapid fire or the steel birds of the sky
    With a final rear guard action I retreat
    No match for barbered wire or the armoured engines whine
    Reluctant I retire and take my leave

    Today I ride with special forces on those wily Afghan horses
    Dostum’s Northern Alliance give their thanks
    No matter defeat or victory, in battle it occurs to me
    That we may see a swelling in our ranks

    I’s with the Aussies at Beersheba took the wells so badly needed
    And with the Polish lancers charging German tanks
    Saw Ross’ mount shot down at Washingtown the night we burned the White House down
    And cursed the sack of York and sons of Yanks

  3. It is true, much of Human History was written in hoofprints.

    Wherever man has left his footprint in the long ascent from barbarism to civilization we will find the hoofprint of the horse beside it.

    ~ John Trotwood Moore

  4. I’m very impressed with the way the history is integrated into the lyrics. My only thought is that 95% of all of his listeners won’t get the major of the historical references. For example:”I’m an uhlan alles uber.” How many would realize that’s a reference to German / Prussian uhlan cavalry –ie. lancers?

  5. […] Interesting how this all comes together with the final chapter of my book, and the last part of the Corb Lund song of the same […]

  6. This is a great find!!! I did take me a while to figure out the “Uhlan uber alles” reference. I like the way he notes both sides “arabs v crusaders, forrest v. wilson, custer v. souix.” Well done!

  7. This song is easily one of the most intelligent songs written in recent times. The depth of historic references impresses me and the way Corb strings them all together in a colourful story is most impressive. He truly has a gift for song, story telling and historical recollection. I look forward to many more from him.

  8. Totally agree with Steven.

  9. Hi, just found your blog in a roundabout way. I am a long-time Corb Lund fan, but more importantly, today I made a visit to the U.S. Cavalry Museum at Fort Riley. I live in KS also, up in Brown County. I had time to kill while my kids were at a 4-H event in Junction City…WOW! what a treasure the museum is for KS! I am not a KS native, I was born and lived in VA until my 30’s. I attended VaTech (if you are familiar you know it and Texas A&M are the only schools with both military and civi) Being a good VA raised with a whole yr of Civil War history we can tell you all the battles and we name our children after famous cavalrymen (youngest son Stuart) oldest son is a bit and spur maker, and a reining horse trainer in TX …same son is seeing Corb tomorrow night in Plano. I concur with the poster who said the ballad is an impressive study of history.

    Here is to the Horse Soldiers, then and now!

  10. New bookstore:
    http://goo.gl/6lyaz


Leave a Reply

